K'anchay Project

What is K'anchay?

K'anchay - in Quechua: dawn light - directs its action to the training and integral development of the men and women of peasant communities who suffer from extreme poverty. Indeed, its scope of action is in one of Bolivia's poorest rural populations, named the Far North of the Department of Potosí. 

The institution, after a long period of diagnosis and analysis of reality in the area, initiated its intervention on September 1, 2002. Since then, the results of its action and, in several areas, the impacts obtained, are numerous.

In the field of education :

  • 6 boarding schools, 400 students per year.

  • distances of 3 or 4 hours (on average) between the school and their houses,

  • a healthy and balanced diet that promotes concentration and intellectual or/and physical effort.

  • an integral training and formation that, after the humanities, opens the way to higher education and today, professionals (agronomists and teachers or educators especially) who return to work in boarding schools as well as several leaders of social organizations who are at the service of their communities.

In the productive field :

  • many altered landscapes on dozens of hectares (reforestation, conservation and recovery of soils) and,

  • lthe most important, improving the organic production through the work of hundreds of farmers,

  • the food security of many families and their well-being, thanks to the excess of their crops that they can sell in small local markets.

The rewards are many, but the more gratifying ones will be long-term actions, like the awakening of the communities with which K'anchay is committed and their awareness, although still slow and partial, trained youth leaders in its boarding schools to become protagonists of their own development.

K'anchay is based on two programs: the education of young people and promoting an agro-ecological agriculture. It is through this mode of intervention that the association, which has been active for almost 20 years, claims to break the circle of poverty and provide the youth with future prospects.

Kanchay.jpg
image.png

Projet K'anchay

Qu’est-ce que  K’anchay ?

 

K’anchay  -  en quechua : lumière de l’aube  -  oriente son action à la formation et au développement intégral des hommes et des femmes des communautés paysannes qui souffrent de l’extrême pauvreté.  En effet, son champ d’action se situe dans une des populations rurales les plus pauvres de Bolivie, à savoir l’Extrême Nord du Département de Potosí

L’institution, après une longue période de diagnostic et d’analyse de la réalité dans la zone, initie son intervention le 1er septembre 2002. Depuis lors, les résultats de son action et, dans plusieurs domaines, les impacts obtenus, sont nombreux.

Dans le domaine de l’éducation :
 

  • 6 internats, 400 élèves par année,

  • des distances de 3 ou 4 heures de marche (en moyenne) entre l’école et la maison épargnées chaque jour,

  • une alimentation saine et équilibrée qui favorise la concentration et l’effort intellectuel ou physique,

  • une formation intégrale qui, après les humanités, ouvre la voie à des études supérieures et, aujourd’hui, des professionnels (agronomes et professeurs ou éducateurs surtout)  qui retournent travailler dans les internats ainsi que plusieurs dirigeants d’organisations sociales qui se mettent au service de leurs communautés.
     

Dans le domaine productif :

  • de nombreux paysages modifiés sur plusieurs dizaines d’hectares (reboisement, conservation et récupérations des sols) et,

  • le plus important, l’amélioration de la production organique par le biais du travail d’une centaine d’agriculteurs,

  • la sécurité alimentaire de nombreuses familles et le bien-être de celles-ci, grâce à l’excédent de leurs récoltes qu’ils peuvent vendre dans les petits marchés locaux.
     

Les satisfactions sont nombreuses, mais le plus réjouissant de cette action de longue haleine, c’est l’éveil des communautés avec lesquelles K’anchay  s’est engagée et la prise de conscience, bien qu’encore lente partielle, des jeunes leaders formés dans ses internats, de se convertir en protagonistes de leur propre développement.

K’anchay, on le voit, repose sur deux programmes, l’éducation des jeunes et la promotion d’une agriculture agroécologique : c’est par le biais de ce mode d’intervention que l’association, active depuis bientôt 20 ans, prétend rompre le cercle de l’extrême pauvreté et offrir aux jeunes des perspectives d’avenir.

Kanchay.jpg
image.png